Ohio State Board of Cosmetology
1929 Gateway Circle • Grove City, Ohio 43123
Local: (614) 466-3834 • Statewide: 1-866-642-6723
Continuing Education classes for licenses which will expire January 31, 2019 must be taken between February 1, 2017 and January 15, 2019.
An individual who holds a license to practice any branch of cosmetology and/or an instructor’s license is required to complete the following continuing education requirements:
One (1) hour of CE related to Cosmetology Board Laws and Rules, which may be applied to multiple licenses. For example you hold a Cosmetology license and an Instructor’s license, the one (1) hour class related to Cosmetology Board Laws and Rules may be applied to both license. This required class will be provided by the Board and available on our website.
Two (2) hours of CE related to sanitation and safety, the Board must be able to track CE completion to each credential held, therefore the two (2) hour safety/sanitation requirement must be separate courses for each license held. For example you hold a manicuring and esthetics license, you will need a two (2) hour course for manicuring and a two (2) hour course for esthetics.
Five (5) hours of CE subject matter related to the scope of practice for each license held by an individual: For example you hold a manicuring and esthetics license, you will need a five (5) hour course for manicuring and a five (5) hour course for esthetics.
Examples: A licensee who holds a Cosmetologist license and an Esthetician license may take:
1 - Hour of Board laws and rules CE (Only provided by the Board)
2 - Hours of Safety and Sanitation CE (from a separate 2 hour course)
5 - Hours cosmetology specific CE
5 - Hours esthetics specific CE
Or, if the Safety and Sanitation CE is not a separate course
1 - Hour of Board laws and rules CE, which is provided by the Board
7 - Hour CE course which contains 2 hours of Safety and Sanitation and 5 hours of cosmetology specific CE
7 - Hour CE course which contains 2 hours of Safety and Sanitation and 5 hours esthetics specific CE
Any CE class intended to be used for license renewal must be pre-approved by the Board. It is the responsibility of the licensee to determine if a CE class has been approved. Approved classes are listed on the Board’s website: www.cos.ohio.gov under the Continuing Education tab, then search for classes. Licensees should ask the CE provider if the class has been approved by the Board. If there are any questions regarding specific CE course content, loss of a CE certificate indicating you completed a class, or any issues pertaining to a class you will need to contact the CE provider directly.
When taking a continuing education class, licensees are required to sign-in to the class using their name and Board license number (e.g.COSM.991234). Upon completion of the class, licensees should receive a certificate of completion. The certificate should include the date, location, hours received, course approval number, and name of class. NOTE: During the CE audit the Board may request proof of completion of CE hours. Therefore, the certificate should be retained in a safe and accessible place.
First Time Licensee:
If you obtained your Ohio license on or after October 3, 2016, you are considered a first time licensee and you are not required to obtain continuing education hours for your license which will expire January 31, 2019. However you will be required to pay the required renewal fee to maintain an active license. NOTE: An Instructors license is not eligible for this exemption.
Sixty-Five (65) or older
Licensees age sixty-five or older before January 31, 2019 are not required to complete CE hours. Payment of renewal fee is required to maintain an active license.
Inactive (formerly Escrow)
Licensees who have placed their license in an INACTIVE status are not required to complete CE hours during the time the license is in an INACTIVE status. To restore a license to an ACTIVE status you will be required to complete the required number of CE hours. To begin the process of restoring an INACTIVE license you will need to submit an Inactive License Reinstatement Request form which can be found on our website: www.cos.ohio.gov on the forms and applications page under Personal Licensing.
If a renewal fee has not been received for two-consecutive renewal periods which is a total of 4 years, the license will go into a LAPSED status. To restore a lapsed license to an ACTIVE status, the licensee is required to pay any back fees and obtain up to twenty-four (24) hours of CE. To begin the process of restoring a LAPSED license you will need to submit an Amnesty Application form which can be found on our website: www.cos.ohio.gov on the forms and applications page under Amnesty Application.
Licensees who hold an instructors license must obtain five (5) of the eight (8) required CE hours related to the scope of practice according to their instructor’s license. For example you hold a Manicuring Instructor’s license you will need a five (5) hour course for instructing manicuring, two (2) Hours of Safety and Sanitation and one (1) hour of Board laws and rules CE, which is provided by the Board.
Ohio State Board of Cosmetology
1929 Gateway Circle
Grove City, Ohio 43123
Local: (614) 466-3834
Fax: (614) 644-6880
Executive Director: Christopher Logsdon
Valerie J. Benfer, Cosmetologist & Salon Owner
Dr. Shalini Gupta, Medical Doctor
Luke Hanks, Private Schools of Cosmetology
Charles Penzone, Salon Manager
Tasha L. Sheipline, Public School Instructor
Thomas Taneff, General Public
Steve Thompson, Independent Contractor
Clara Osterhage, Salon Owner - 5 or More Salons